Dress Forms

I hope you’re having a great holiday season. I’ve been enjoying my time off of teaching, catching up with friends and family, lounging in my pajamas until noon, cleaning and organizing my sewing room and admiring the new sparkle on my finger since getting engaged to my farmer last week. 🙂 I’m pretty much the happiest girl on the planet right now. I also took the plunge and ordered a serger and some books about fabric design as sewing clothes. I’m going to start making some of my own clothes, and maybe even to sell later in the year. Lots of exciting ideas for the new year.  Are you guys thinking about new years resolutions yet? Exercise is definitely one of mine. Two real workouts a week is my goal, but three or four would be better.

I wanted to share this cool idea for making your own dress form, as I did some research. I was looking at purchasing one, but I read that it’s still difficult to an adjustable one to really match your measurements and shape. I’m toying with the idea of making one. I let you know if I do. I like the paper mache one. The vintage forms are so beautiful, I’m not sure mine would look that nice. I love looking at them in antique stores.

I hope you have  a great New Year’s Eve and that you’re feeling inspired about something too.

2 responses

  1. Hi. Love your blog! I too have been thinking about making my own dress form. Unfortunately, the link in the post goes to the gap. Would you mind letting us know it again? Can’t wait to hear how it turns out for you.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. Sorry about the issue with the link, and thank you for pointing it out so I could correct it. Not sure what happened there. I’ve updated the link to a tutorial. I’ll have to make time to give it a try soon.

Leave a Reply

